PCB Drill and Via Sizes: Common, Smallest and Extra-Cost Hole Sizes at JLCPCB, PCBWay and OSH Park

What via and drill sizes can you use without paying extra, what is the smallest you can get, and what is it called in mils? Checked against the published limits of JLCPCB, PCBWay and OSH Park, with a checker for your own hole and pad sizes.

Safe default via0.3 mm hole / 0.6 mm pad12 / 24 mil · standard at every board house
Smallest in the JLCPCB standard price0.3 mm hole / 0.45 mm pad12 / 18 mil · not at PCBWay or OSH Park
Smallest standard at PCBWay0.2 mm hole8 mil · 5 mil ring
Smallest at all (extra cost)0.1 mm hole / 0.2 mm padJLCPCB, boards up to 1.0 mm thick, ENIG or OSP

Will this hole cost extra?

Hole & via checker

Try:

1. Via sizes: standard and extra cost

Hole / pad in mm and mil, on a 1.6 mm, 2-layer board. Standard is in the normal price, Extra cost needs a paid option or an advanced order, Not offered is below the published limit. Hover a verdict for the reason. Thinner boards allow smaller holes: JLCPCB's 0.1 mm hole needs a board of 1.0 mm or less, and PCBWay limits 0.2 mm holes to 1.6 mm boards.

Hole / pad, mmiHole / pad, miliRing, mmiJLCPCBiPCBWayiOSH ParkiUsed for
0.1 / 0.23.9 / 7.90.050Not offeredNot offeredNot offeredLaser-style microvia; fan-out under 0.4 mm-pitch BGAs (boards ≤ 1.0 mm)
0.15 / 0.255.9 / 9.80.050Extra costNot offeredNot offeredSmallest mechanical via at JLCPCB; 0.5 mm-pitch BGA fan-out
0.15 / 0.355.9 / 13.80.100Extra costNot offeredNot offeredVia-in-pad for 0.5 mm-pitch BGAs (filled and capped)
0.2 / 0.47.9 / 15.70.100Extra costExtra costNot offeredDense digital boards, 0.65–0.8 mm-pitch BGAs
0.2 / 0.457.9 / 17.70.125Extra costExtra costNot offeredDense routing where 0.3 mm is too big
0.254 / 0.50810 / 200.127Extra costStandardStandard10/20 mil, a common CAD default and the smallest OSH Park via
0.3 / 0.4511.8 / 17.70.075StandardNot offeredNot offeredSmallest via in the JLCPCB standard price
0.3 / 0.611.8 / 23.60.150StandardStandardStandardThe safe default: standard at every board house
0.4 / 0.815.7 / 31.50.200StandardStandardStandardPower and ground stitching, more current per via
0.5 / 119.7 / 39.40.250StandardStandardStandardHigh-current or thermal vias, easy to probe

2. Plated hole sizes (component leads and pins)

Plated holes have copper on the wall and a pad on both sides, for through-hole leads and pins. The pad here is the hole + 0.6 mm (a 0.3 mm ring), which every board house accepts. Holes are made with real drill bits in 0.05 mm steps, so stick to these sizes (why sizes get rounded). Very large holes are routed (see below). Assumes a 1.6 mm, 2-layer board; hover a verdict for the reason.

Finished hole, mmimilPad, mmiDrilled at, mmiJLCPCBiPCBWayiOSH ParkiUsed for
0.207.90.800.30Extra costStandardNot offeredToo small for a component lead; costs extra at JLCPCB
0.259.80.850.35Extra costStandardNot offered
0.3011.80.900.40StandardStandardStandardSmallest plated hole in the JLCPCB standard price
0.4015.71.000.50StandardStandardStandardThin wire, test points
0.5019.71.100.60StandardStandardStandardTest points, 0.3 mm pins
0.6023.61.200.70StandardStandardStandard0.4 mm pins, thin wire
0.7027.61.300.80StandardStandardStandard0.5 mm round leads
0.8031.51.400.90StandardStandardStandard¼ W resistors, 1N4148, DIP ICs, TO-92
0.9035.41.501.00StandardStandardStandard
1.0039.41.601.10StandardStandardStandard2.54 mm (0.1″) header pins
1.1043.31.701.20StandardStandardStandard1N400x rectifiers, ½–1 W resistors
1.2047.21.801.30StandardStandardStandardTO-220, larger pins
1.3051.21.901.40StandardStandardStandardScrew terminals
1.5059.12.101.60StandardStandardStandardLarge terminals, DC jacks (check the datasheet)
2.0078.72.602.10StandardStandardStandardLarge pins, power posts
3.201263.803.30StandardStandardStandardM3 plated mounting hole (ties the screw to ground)
4.30169.34.904.40StandardStandardStandardM4 plated mounting hole
6.00236.26.606.10StandardStandardStandardLarge plated hole
6.50255.97.106.60Standard · routedExtra cost · routedStandardBigger than the largest drill: routed
8.003158.608.10Standard · routedExtra cost · routedStandard · routedLarge plated cutout: routed

3. Non-plated hole sizes (mounting and locating holes)

Non-plated holes have no copper on the wall, so they are drilled at the size you draw. Use them for screws that must not touch a net, plastic locating pegs, and cutouts. JLCPCB's smallest is 0.50 mm.

Hole, mmimilJLCPCBiPCBWayiOSH ParkiUsed for
0.3011.8Not offeredStandardStandardToo small for a non-plated hole at JLCPCB
0.4015.7Not offeredStandardStandard
0.5019.7StandardStandardStandardSmallest non-plated hole at JLCPCB
0.6525.6StandardStandardStandardConnector locating pegs (e.g. many USB-C sockets)
1.0039.4StandardStandardStandardPlastic locating pegs
1.5059.1StandardStandardStandardLocating pegs, alignment pins
2.2086.6StandardStandardStandardM2 mounting hole (close fit)
2.70106.3StandardStandardStandardM2.5 mounting hole (close fit)
3.20126StandardStandardStandardM3 mounting hole (close fit)
3.40133.9StandardStandardStandardM3 mounting hole (medium fit)
4.30169.3StandardStandardStandardM4 mounting hole (close fit)
5.30208.7StandardStandardStandardM5 mounting hole (close fit)
6.40252Standard · routedExtra cost · routedStandardM6 mounting hole (close fit): routed at JLCPCB
10.00393.7Standard · routedExtra cost · routedStandard · routedLarge cutout, cable or light pipe hole: routed

Screw clearance sizes per ISO 273; see mounting hole sizes for the fit choices and keep-out.

Drill and via limits: JLCPCB vs PCBWay vs OSH Park

As each board house publishes them (read 21 October 2026). Limits change; check the linked capability page before you order.

JLCPCBPCBWayOSH Park
Smallest hole, standard price0.30 mm (12 mil)0.20 mm (8 mil)0.254 mm (10 mil), 2 & 4 layer
0.203 mm (8 mil), 6 layer
Smallest hole, extra cost0.15 mm; 0.10 mm on boards ≤ 1.0 mm with ENIG or OSP0.15 mm— (no extra-cost options)
Via padat least hole + 0.10 mm (hole + 0.15 mm preferred); 0.2–0.25 mm holes with pads under 0.45 mm are part of the small-via optionring ≥ 5 mil (0.127 mm) standard; 4 then 3 mil at medium / high difficultyring ≥ 5 mil (2 layer), ≥ 4 mil (4 & 6 layer)
Component (PTH) ring≥ 0.18 mm (2 layer), ≥ 0.15 mm (multilayer); 0.25 / 0.20 mm recommended≥ 10 mil (0.254 mm) standard; 8 mil mediumas for vias
Largest drill6.3 mm (larger holes are routed)6.0 mm (larger at extra cost; 6.5 mm by milling)not stated
Plated hole tolerance+0.13 / −0.08 mm±0.08 mmnot stated
Non-plated holes0.50 mm minimum±0.05 mm tolerancenot stated
Aspect ratio (thickness : hole)not stated≤ 8:1 standard, 8–10:1 advanced; thickest board for a 0.2 mm hole: 1.6 mmnot stated
Plated slot, narrowest0.50 mm (2 layer), 0.35 mm (multilayer)0.50 mmnot stated
Non-plated slot, narrowest1.0 mm0.8 mmnot stated
Castellated (half) holes≥ 0.5 mm, board ≥ 10 × 10 mm and ≥ 0.6 mm thick≥ 0.5 mm (0.4 mm at medium difficulty)not stated
Hole to holevia 0.2 mm; pad 0.45 mmvias ≥ 11 mil; component holes ≥ 16 milnot stated
Blind / buried & microviasHDI laser blind 0.075–0.15 mm; buried 0.15–0.55 mmHDI offerednot offered
Via-in-pad (filled & capped)0.15–0.55 mm, default on 6+ layersofferednot offered

Seeed Fusion lists a 0.2 mm minimum drill in its standard service. Eurocircuits grades boards by “drill class”, set by the smallest production drill (finished plated hole + 0.10 mm).

Through-hole component hole sizes

Rule of thumb: finished hole = the largest lead diameter (the diagonal for a square pin) + 0.2 to 0.3 mm, and pad = hole + 0.6 mm or more, so the ring is at least 0.3 mm and solders well by hand. Lead sizes vary by maker: these are typical starting points, so check the datasheet.

PartTypical leadFinished holePad
¼ W resistor, 1N4148, small ceramic or electrolytic capacitor0.5–0.6 mm round0.8 mm (31 mil)1.6 mm
DIP IC, TO-92 transistor0.46 mm wide flat0.8 mm (31 mil)1.5–1.6 mm
2.54 mm (0.1″) header pin0.64 mm square (0.9 mm diagonal)1.0 mm (39 mil)1.7 mm
1N400x rectifier, ½–1 W resistor0.8–0.9 mm round1.0–1.1 mm2.0 mm
TO-2200.8–1.0 × 0.5 mm flat1.1–1.2 mm2.0 mm
5 mm screw terminal, larger connector pins1.0–1.3 mm1.3–1.5 mm2.5 mm

Mounting hole sizes

Clearance holes per ISO 273 (fine, medium, coarse) for metric screws and the usual close / free fit for inch screws. Keep copper and parts outside the screw head (or a washer), plus a margin: the “keep-out” column is the socket-head diameter (ISO 4762) + 0.5 mm.

ScrewFine / closeMedium / freeCoarseKeep-out ⌀
M22.2 mm2.4 mm2.6 mm4.3 mm
M2.52.7 mm2.9 mm3.1 mm5.0 mm
M33.2 mm3.4 mm3.6 mm6.0 mm
M44.3 mm4.5 mm4.8 mm7.5 mm
#4 (0.112″)0.116″ (2.95 mm, #32)0.1285″ (3.26 mm, #30)—≈ 6 mm
#6 (0.138″)0.144″ (3.66 mm, #27)0.1495″ (3.80 mm, #25)—≈ 7 mm

A plated mounting hole with a ring ties the screw to that net (often ground); a non-plated one isolates it. Non-plated holes start at 0.5 mm (JLCPCB).

Reference Guide: PCB Drills and Vias
01

Choosing a Via

  • Start at 0.3 / 0.6 mm (12 / 24 mil). It is standard everywhere and plates reliably on any common thickness. It carries roughly 1 A (a common rule of thumb for 1 oz plating). Shrink only where routing needs it.
  • Going cheap at JLCPCB: 0.3 / 0.45 mm is the smallest via in the standard price. Anything under 0.3 mm adds a small-via fee to the whole order.
  • Fine-pitch BGAs (0.5 mm and below) need 0.15–0.2 mm vias, usually filled and capped so they can sit in the pad. That always costs extra, and often means a 4+ layer board.
  • Current: one via is a short, thin copper tube. Use several vias in parallel for power rather than one very large one.
  • Tented vias (covered by solder mask) are free and stop solder wicking. Plugged or filled vias cost extra.
02

Why Does My Drill Size Get Rounded?

The board house only has certain drill bits

Every hole is made by a real drill bit spinning in a CNC machine. The board house keeps a rack of bits in fixed sizes, usually every 0.05 mm: 0.20, 0.25, 0.30 mm and so on. It has no 0.23 mm bit. So when your file asks for 0.23 mm, the machine uses the closest bit it has, 0.25 mm.

Eurocircuits publishes exactly this: every hole is rounded to the nearest 0.05 mm, so it is never more than 0.025 mm off. JLCPCB doesn't publish its list of bits.

So is 0.20 mm the same as 0.24 mm?

Close enough. 0.20, 0.21 and 0.22 mm are made with the same bit, and so are 0.23 and 0.24 mm. And JLCPCB's finished holes can land anywhere from 0.08 mm smaller to 0.13 mm bigger than asked, which is far more than 0.01 mm.

When it does matter

Price limits. At JLCPCB a 0.25 mm hole costs extra and a 0.30 mm hole does not. If you draw sizes that match the drill bits, you always know which side of a limit you are on.

Why plated holes are drilled bigger
drilled finished boardcopper

A plated hole gets a thin layer of copper on its wall (drawn thicker here). So the board house drills about 0.10 mm bigger than you asked, and the plating brings the hole back down to your size.

What each size becomes
You drawClosest bit sizeBit used for a plated hole
0.20 mm0.20 mm0.30 mm
0.21 mm0.20 mm0.30 mm
0.22 mm0.20 mm0.30 mm
0.23 mm0.25 mm0.35 mm
0.24 mm0.25 mm0.35 mm
0.787 mm (31 mil)0.80 mm0.90 mm

Rounding as Eurocircuits publishes it. Other board houses keep their own sets of bits; JLCPCB doesn't publish its list.

03

Big Holes Get Routed

What routing is

Every board house has a largest drill bit. A hole bigger than that is routed: a small milling bit moves around the circle, the same way the board outline is cut.

Board houseLargest drillBigger holes
JLCPCB6.3 mmRouted, no extra cost
PCBWay6.0 mmMilled, extra cost (±0.1 mm)
OSH Parkabout 6.6 mm (unconfirmed)Milled; draw it as a cutout on the board outline layer
What changes
  • Tolerance is looser. A routed hole is less exact than a drilled one. JLCPCB holds routed, non-plated slots to ±0.2 mm. If a bearing or press-fit part needs an exact hole, stay at or under the largest drill.
  • Inside corners come out round. The milling bit is round, so slots and cutouts can't have sharp inside corners.
  • Draw it the way the board house wants. A large round hole can usually stay in the drill file. Slots and odd shapes go on the board outline (or a mechanical) layer.
Just over a limit? A 6.5 mm hole costs extra at PCBWay but a 6.0 mm one does not. The tables above show where each size lands.
04

Finished Hole vs. Drill Size, and the Annular Ring

Finished hole vs. drill size

Your CAD file gives the finished size. For plated holes the board house drills about 0.10 mm (4 mil) larger, because about 18–25 µm of copper is plated onto the wall. Non-plated holes are drilled at the size you draw.

Holes come out within the tolerance (+0.13 / −0.08 mm at JLCPCB). Set press-fit and tight pin holes with that in mind.

Annular ring

The copper between the hole and the edge of the pad: ring = (pad − hole) ÷ 2. Drill wander and plating eat into it. Too small a ring and the hole can break out of the pad.

The ring is measured from the larger drilled hole, which is why board houses ask for more pad than the finished hole suggests. IPC-2221/2222 set the design rules; the board houses publish their own minimums.

05

Aspect Ratio and Via Types

Aspect ratio

Board thickness ÷ hole diameter. Plating has to reach the middle of the hole, so tall thin holes are hard. 8:1 is routine (a 0.2 mm hole in a 1.6 mm board). 10:1 is advanced. Thinner boards allow smaller holes.

Via types
  • Through via: drilled through the whole board. The only kind on 2-layer boards, and the cheapest.
  • Blind via: from an outer layer to an inner layer. Buried via: between inner layers only. Both need sequential lamination (HDI), so they cost extra.
  • Microvia: a laser-drilled blind via, about 0.075–0.15 mm.
  • Via-in-pad: a via in a component pad, filled and plated over so solder doesn't wick away.
  • Tented, plugged, filled: covered by solder mask, partly plugged, or completely filled.
06

mm and mil

1 mil = 0.001 in = 0.0254 mm.

mm0.150.200.2540.300.400.450.500.600.801.00
mil681012161820243139
07

Sources

Board-house limits from JLCPCB PCB capabilities and its help article on extra charges (standard holes ≥ 0.3 mm), PCBWay PCB capabilities, OSH Park services, Seeed Fusion and Eurocircuits drill class, read 21 October 2026. Drill steps, rounding and the +0.10 mm plating allowance from Eurocircuits' drilled holes and finished hole size tolerances guidelines. Clearance holes per ISO 273; socket-head diameters per ISO 4762. Component lead sizes are typical values.